How To Become a Certified Internal Auditor

We will guide you through step-by-step stages of becoming a Certified Internal Auditor.

Certified Internal Auditor

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) is a certification programme offered by the Institute of Internal Auditors-USA. In India, IIA India manages the programme. CIA programme helps candidates to gain professional knowledge in internal audit.

Becoming a Certified Internal Auditor will help you take your audit career to the next level. There are so many opportunities out there for CIA’s. As pressures for the internal audit to contribute to the strategic direction of entities and move away from myopic procedural audit, the need for auditors to advance their competencies and professionalism and provide enhanced value-adding services to management grows.

We will guide you through step-by-step stages of becoming a Certified Internal Auditor

Eligibility Requirements

CIA candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements. Before a candidate application can be approved, ALL documentation (proof of education, character reference, and identification) must be received and approved by The IIA’s Certification staff.

  • Education
  • Character Reference
  • Work Experience
  • Identification


Candidates must hold an Associate's degree or higher to be approved into one of The IIA’s certification programs. Common equivalents are a Foundation Degree, Diploma of Higher Education, Higher National Diploma, or three A-level certificates with a grade of C or higher are also acceptable.

Character Reference

Candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference signed by a CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA, CRMA, or the candidate's supervisor.

Work Experience

Education Level

Years of Work Experience Required

Master's Degree (or equivalent)

12 months - internal auditing experience or its equivalent

Bachelor's Degree (or equivalent)

24 months - internal auditing experience or its equivalent

Associate's Degree, three A-Level
Certificates, grade C or higher (or equivalent)

60 months - internal auditing experience or its equivalent

Proof of Identification

Candidates must provide proof of identification in the form of a copy of the candidate’s official passport or national identity card. These must indicate current status; expired documents will not be accepted.


The certification module is divided into three parts-I,II and III. Part I of CIA programme focuses on essentials of Internal Auditing. Part II includes practice of Internal Auditing. Part III includes business knowledge for Internal Auditing. Certificate will be provided to candidates only if they complete all the examinations successfully.

Part -1: Essentials of Internal Auditing

1. Foundations of Internal Auditing (15%)
2. Independence and Objectivity (15%)
3. Proficiency and Due Professional Care (18%)
4. Quality Assurance and Improvement Program (7%)
5. Governance, Risk Management and Control (35%)
6. Fraud Risks (10%)
Part-2: Practice of Internal Auditing
1. Managing the Internal Audit Activity (20%)
2. Planning the Engagement (20%)
3. Performing the Engagement (40%)
4. Communicating Engagement Results and Monitoring Progress (20%)
Part-3: Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing
1. Business Acumen (35%)
2. Information Security (25%)
3. Information Technology (20%)
4. Financial Management (20%)

To know more about CIA Courses

Visit -

Explore Our Online Courses

  • Price starts from Rs 399/-
  • Lifetime Access
  • Accessible both in App & Desktop

CA N Raja
A Chartered Accountant with tonnes of passion for teaching.

Launch your GraphyLaunch your Graphy
100K+ creators trust Graphy to teach online
CARAJACLASSES 2022 Privacy policy Terms of use Contact us Refund policy